Dontellanyoneabouthis

Note: I’ve written this post not so much to promote my system, as to simply explain how I work, and what investors should expect from my system. And since some things are better explained with a screenshot — something the strategy description box doesn’t allow — I decided to post this here.

dontellanyoneabouthis trades CME index futures (MES, MYM, M2K) on the daily timeframe.

I am a discretionary price action trader. All my trading decisions are based on advanced price action analysis, as well as technical analysis.

The aim of my trading system is to identify key levels where (1) if going long, others will buy after me, driving the price higher, (2) if going short, others will sell after me, driving the price lower.

For this reason, most of my trades are executed using a buy/sell stop order, unless that key level happens to be now, in which case a buy/sell market order will be used.

Every trade comes with stop-loss — the level at which, if hit, the trade idea becomes invalid and you must get out.

Identifying the entry and the stop-loss level is just half the work. Trade management is the other half.

As mentioned, it is extremely important for the market to continue to go in my direction once the order is filled. If that doesn’t happen — I need to find a way to minimize the potential loss as much as possible.

Trade management: possible scenarios

(1) order filled, then aggressively stopped-out

This is the worst possible scenario for any trade — aggressively getting stopped out soon after the entry, without having the possibility to minimize the loss. As much as I hate getting a full loss like that, there’s nothing I can do about it. While it rarely occurs, it’s still a possibility, so be aware of it, and accept it as a part of the game.

(1)

(2) order filled, but no follow-through