MK: "Best Systems" List Criteria

Hi Matthew,

One of my systems is now 5 weeks old on C2, and based on the stats available and what I’ve calculated seems to meet all the criteria for the “Best Systems (medium term)” list, yet it doesn’t appear on the list. How often is it re-calculated?

The system is TrendSensor Jumbo (28493416).

Happy to pick this up via PM and send you the stats I have, if that helps. Posted here because I think there is excellent transparency provided by you in publishing the criteria. But the missing bit seems to be aligning the stats with the criteria. I’m a statistician so have happily worked them out, but for others the main missing pieces seem to be:

* Gain over the last 30 days (% of equity)

* Avg trade DD (% of equity)

Having these two published somewhere (either standard stats, or Jules’ excellent advanced stats plugin) would probably help vendors know where they stand vis-a-vis the criteria.

Would be interested in what others think.

Hmmm … I’ve just noticed that if you click on any one of the 3 system types under “Best Systems” the system needs to be 60 days old or older, but if you just click the “Best Systems” link directly (ie: you don’t care whether it’s a stock, forex, or futures system) the criteria says “system age 3 weeks or older”. There are other slight variations, so I’m not sure if this is intentional or an error.

Personally, I’d prefer to see both options at 60 days or older as 3 weeks seems way too short to make any sensible assessment of performance.

I agree that I need to make visible any stat that is used in the compilation of dynamic lists. I will be introducing a new search/sort user interface in the near future, which will allow this.

Any system that is 5 weeks old does not belong on a "Best Systems" list. The surest thing we have seen from systems like that, is that they are very likely to blow up.