Huge use of Margin?

I am relatively new to C2 and am looking for the best way to compare strategies apples to apples on the basis of margin usage. If I look at Volatility Returns (https://collective2.com/details/101429306) under statistics then “Model Account Values (RAW)” it currently shows 0 margin usage. If I were to just take a quick look at this strategy it looks like it grew $25,000 to $115,000 with potentially no margin usage. However, if you look at some of the recent trades that are published for non-subscribers, it shows that the strategy purchased 2,285 shares of XIV on 6/8/2017 for $82.45 for a total of $188,398.25. This value is greater than the current maximum peak of $132,000. Clearly if I were to scale at 100% I would end up needing to have more money available in my account than what would be needed to match the equity curve. So, I guess this leads to three thoughts for me.

1. Is there a way to compare strategies equivalently based on total buying power needed to perform the strategy?
  2. How should a subscriber attempt to follow a strategy that sometimes buys more than the simulated account value? I would hate to have to leave double the amount of the simulated value available in my account to follow a strategy just to make sure I have enough if they use margin or not.