Margin call

hi matthew

i dont understand the margin call i got for my posistion in NGF07

i had 70.000 in available margin for this trade and yet it was closed by c2 for a loss of 11.000 .

this trade would now be in profit.

could yuo please rectify this

many thanks

colin

Margin required overnight= $2,000 per contract. You tried to hold 48 contracts. That means you needed $96,000 available margin, which you did not have.

hi

ok i wasnt aware of overnight requirement

lesson learnt

A better lesson learned would not to hold 48 contracts of Natural Gas. This is not exactly what you would call a serene commodity. Holding this many on the available margin is what is called WAY WAY WAY overleveraged.

when you trade natural gas as successfully as me ill take your advice.

besides i am still learning and its a mistake that hasnt cost me dearly and i wont make it again.

A better lesson learned would not to hold 48 contracts of Natural Gas. This is not exactly what you would call a serene commodity. Holding this many on the available margin is what is called WAY WAY WAY overleveraged.

its hard to seriously take your comment “when you trade natural gas as successfully as me”, while you basically

1) walk around in a minefield wearing a blindfold

2) keep smacking the ground with a sledge hammer

3) have 10 time bombs strapped on

Didn’t your problem with the overnight trade teach you anything?? And that is a FULLSIZE WINTER contract, for God’s sake!!!

Does the term “Lock Limit” mean anything to you? Like when you want to get out, but can’t? Read this about a SINGLE contract: Maximum Daily Price Fluctuation $3.00 per mmBtu ($30,000 per contract)

its even harder to take seriously someone who doesnt eppear to be able to trade anything successfully.

besides my record in trading nat gas speaks for itself

and like i said i am new and learning at a fast pace.

whats your excuse?

> when you trade natural gas as successfully as me ill take your advice.