Return vs. Leverage

Hi,

an indicator that is used - and will certainly be observed by most subscribers here - is annual return. In particularly, it comes up in the portfoliomaker (nice tool by the way).

However, there are a lot of gambling systems around here. This makes the number easy to manipulate: leverage your system higher. If it works good (if not, you do not need to care anyway) it will look pretty fantastic even compared to other systems, which make exactly the same trading, albeit with a different leverage!

For this reason, I would find it very interesting, if there would be something like a leverage-neutral profit number (like profit vs. money-at-risk), but I am not an expert for these metrics. So any comment welcome.

I understand this very difficult with the large number of instruments traded here, but well… it would be a way forward…

Klaus

Fully agree. Return alone should not be shown anywhere. What you should be looking at is annual return / max dd (Calmar ratio). Of course in young systems also Calmar can be misleading if the system has not yet experienced real losing periods.

Hi,

yes, the Calmar ratio is one important measure.

But this is NOT what I meant, as it expresses only profit vs. risk.

Thus, it is good to compare different strategies for their risk appetite. This is not I mean here (though it is also important). What I am interested in is in particular to counter the effects of leverage.

Probably this is then more aptly described as: profit / money-used

(not money-at-risk, which I wrote earlier.)

What money used means is different for different instruments,

e.g., for futures it is margin, for stocks it is the money the stock.

Basically I want to abstract from the money in the C2-account which is not used. Because, if one account has $100.000 another $20.000 and they trade both with the same strategy (assumed, it fits within the 20.000) then they will have strongly different annual return…