System Selection

1CMany years ago when I worked as a research director for one of the major Wall Street brokerage firms, one of my job responsibilities included evaluating commodity trading advisors (CTAs). One of the statistics that CTAs were required by the regulatory authorities to report was the percentage of client accounts that closed with a profit. I made the striking discovery that the majority of closed accounts showed a net loss for virtually all of the CTAs I reviewed 13 even those who had no losing years! The obvious implication was that investors were so bad in their investment entries and exits that most of them lost money 13 even when they chose a consistently winning CTA! This poor timing reflects the common investor tendency to commit to an investment after it has done well and to liquidate an investment after it has done poorly. Although these types of investment decisions may sound perfectly natural, even instinctive, they are also generally wrong. 1D
- ¬ Jack Schwager, 1CMarket Sense and Nonsense 1D

Thanks for the quote, GSP Trader, and to you too,T SH, for your guess regarding the 39,993 views.

Your quote and guess still do not change the facts of the low drawdown, low cost, high Calmar ratio, good profit factor, etc.

I will invest with confidence in systems, using the facts I find important, regardless the number of views and Mr. Schwager’s writings.

Daniel

Sure just was commenting on the ranking issue , that’s not a guess , the default ranking on the grid is popularity , and 40k views for a new system like that one is just wrong , just compare with old systems .

By the way, could you tell me where you got this number from?
Thanks,
Daniel

Hi , click on “Followers” .

OK, I am reading 40,006 now.
So what is your point?
Is there a financial meaning to this number?
Does it change the facts of low cost, low drawdown, high Calmar, high profit factor, etc?
Daniel

Hi DS , my reply was to that post not yours :