The opinions expressed in these forums do not represent those of C2, and any discussion of profit/loss is not indicative of future performance or success. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading. You should therefore carefully consider whether such trading is suitable for you in light of your financial condition. You should read, understand, and consider the Risk Disclosure Statement that is provided by your broker before you consider trading. Most people who trade lose money.

API Stock Execution best practices

Hope everyone is having a good time. I’m fairly new to C2 but I’ve been algo trading for a while via TD’s and IB’s API. I’m working on a system and wanted to check what people do as far as the execution goes.
Most my systems trade at the end of the day - on TD/IB I submit limit orders that buy the ask or sell the bid to make sure I get filled. Sometimes (< 10%) I get a partial fill but most of the times everything fills just fine.
I never submit market orders although I mostly trade very liquid stuff - just got brain washed over the years not to do it.

How does this translate to C2?
Is there something like a partial fill?
Have you guys noticed a delay as far as execution goes?
(my servers are on AWS so the delay between IB’s UI and the actual price is almost not noticeable) - will C2 have the same bid/ask at the same time or have you guys seen discrepancies?
All my trades are US stocks - are there any best practices to follow (other than buying low and selling high :wink: )?
I’m still getting used to the Buy to Open vs. Sell to Open - typically I either go long or short and it add/subtracts to the position I have.
Can you have a position that’s long and then add a Sell to Open on the same symbol?
Will this be tracked as two independent positions or just one?