Hosting questions

I’ve had an eye on collective2 for some time, but apparently I was mistaken about one assumption I had made previously. I always thought that these trading systems were hosted on collective2 servers, as well as everything else that collective2 does do. Now that I’ve taken a closer look here I see that I was wrong.

So that leads me to my question about hosting systems. Where are the trading systems hosted? Are they all running on their developers systems at home/office? Or are they hosted on commercial hosting servers out in the cloud?

I’m a software engineer and I’ve spent a few years in developing trading systems. I’d be interested in hearing of where trading systems are being hosted other than at home or office desktops. I’m curious if collective2 is considering providing that service? Or are there any hosting companies that are well suited for trading systems? Thanks, Mike.

Michael,

My Precisiontrader 5.2 software that gives the orders for starter system and whales only is on a computer next to me that only takes in data. It gives output only to a screen and a printer. I type in the orders to a c2 site on a separate computer. They then do the distribution. Do they send the order to the broker if it is a limit or stop is a good question, or do they wait until the order is triggered and is a market order.

Ric

[LINKSYSTEM_50936890]

I see. That makes sense and I suspect that is a typical setup for these trading systems. I am curious about 100% automated systems. Are there any?

Michael - My current systems run 100% automated. I have Tradestation on my office PC. It runs strategy, and sends order to C2. I don’t do anything unless there is a problem.

There are server farms and websites that will run your strategy for you, so you do not have to run from your own PC. I assume you could get them to talk to C2.

Kevin

Kevin,