Make reports more tranparent and honest => useful

Following does not include forex where commission is covered by bid/ask.

There are a number of important features which make these graphics and reports of dbioud use.

I just learnt for a start that the green equity curve is for open and close positions. Now I can see how that gives a look at drawdown periods - but they should be reported anyway.

The best way to see how a system performs graphically is to show the closed equity plot.

Also - the graph should be shown trade by trade without increasing and decreasing lots to get an accurate picture of performance [some do do this like coin collector]

AND WHERE ARE the commissions? I leanrt fx is covered by ASK-Spread, but on Futures at least they should absolutely be a deduction of at LEAST $20 per contract per round lot trade [some people still pay more[…AND at least a further $10 for slippage.

When I first came onto this site I thought it as a really cool idea. But the ,more O look at it the more what I consider to be some significant problems.

Take a look at coin collector for instance - I was going to subscribe to this - I still might, but I have re-appraised it in the light of the commission problem

Trades512

Profitable357

Losses155

Win %69.7%

Cumu $$145,250

after typical commission$119,600

Avg Win$1,133

Avg Loss$1,672

Now if you get into these figurs a bit more - they have a great plus in that they are for trades of the same number of contracts at least - giving a closed equity curve an honest look.

BUT

Each turn is 10 LOTS

Lets say you’ve got a good broker and get $20 round lots with 0 slippage.

512 Trades X 10 LOTS X $20 = 102400

Coin Collector has figures like this

Cumu $$145,250

after typical commission$119,600

I think they should be more like this

Cumu $$145,250

after typical commission$42,850