Why Few short trades

I track alot of the Futures strategies and notice that either they take ONLY Long trades, or if they go Short it is pretty rare. I understand that the long term performance of US Equities is Long, but there are so many opportunities to Short.

Anyone have an explanation?

Any good shorters would be rich and not need c2. Any bad shorter would have been bankrupted over the last 10 year bull market.

There’s a short only strategy that’s done really well this year, AlgoFolio Short. Only thing I don’t like is that a few trades show large single-trade drawdowns (>8%) and somewhat Martingale-like behavior.

yes I have looked at Algo Short… I guess what I would really like to find is a strategy that goes short as well as long… there are some that go short , but it is really the exception

I’m a high conviction trader. I give my positions space to trade. To make money on the short side one needs to be right, to be right you need to be early, often when one is early it appears they’re wrong, until they’re proven right. The strategy is negatively correlated to the SP500 and consistently generated positive returns in what was generally a rising market.
The Martingale tag is spurious, there hasn’t been any doubling up on losers. That term gets tossed around too easily on these boards, even so it doesn’t apply to AlgoFolio Short.
In a portfolio context allocating to AlgoFolio Short in addition to one or more long only strategies helps to lower the overall Beta while adding Alpha. That is what it is designed to do.

Well, sometimes it’s hard to know whether a trader is scaling into positions in a structured fashion or cost-averaging/Martingaling. I looked at some of your large drawdown trades and it looks like you did add size to trades that were under water. That being said, after reading your post above, I went back to the strategy page and it looks like you add size to winners as well. So, it would seem that you scale in to positions.