Subscriber Population

I am new to C2, and am looking forward to releasing my algorithm here shortly. I realize there is a previous post on this however the problem was never addressed rather people started arguing about different things. However, I have been confused about the popularity stats. What is the popularity stats actually telling us? If we aren’t privy to how many subscribers are actually out there how do we know that there are even enough to make paying for C2 worth it? Is that why we aren’t privy? From what I read in the last post there are for more algos with 0 subscribers. I feel like I am going into C2 totally blind, and likely to lose money because of all the questions surrounding the subscriber side of C2. I have a great algo that made close to 600% last year however am considering not using C2 because of this. Please advise!

1 Like

Hi, Timothy:

I understand why you want to know the specific number of subscribers per strategy.

We made a decision a while back to no longer release those numbers. (We used to.) There are a couple of reasons for this decision. One important reason is that it creates self-fulfilling prophecies, or, more technically speaking, feedback loops: popular systems grow more popular, at the cost of leaving “hidden gems” undiscovered. This is not only bad for strategy owners and subscribers, but also bad generally for C2’s business model. We want a lot of strategy owners to be successful, not just a handful.

I think your real concern is to make sure that you - as a strategy manager - can make money on C2. The answer is: Yes, you can. While we don’t release highly specific numbers, we do release useful aggregate numbers, which I believe support this claim. See this page, for example, to see a real-time chart showing total lifetime earnings of top strategy owners on C2:

https://www.collective2.com/aboutStartSystem